Options

Military (Army) IT/Networking/Cyber career questions.

2cndchance2cndchance Registered Users Posts: 2 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello, I am Cider. I have several questions on the topics of IT certifications, general IT, and military cyber operations. They are listed at the bottom in bold. Following this introduction is a background of my knowledge and reasoning behind the questions, to possibly help you with your answers.

I am a 35P (Cryptologic Linguist) and I work in the military intelligence field. What I want to work in, however, is the Cyber Warfare / Cyber Security field as an eventual warrant officer. Recently, a new series(17C /17A) dedicated to Cyber Warfare and Security was announced for enlisted and officer, it is en-route to begin by the end of the year.

Cited from one of the many similar articles found by a Google search:
Army's new Cyber branch looking to recruit talent -- Defense Systems

My goal is to reenlist into this field, or go straight to warrant officer.

I grew up using computers. Everything to do with networking and security became something I enjoyed reading about. But in all honesty I cannot say that in the grand, or even lesser scope of IT knowledge and application I am in any way proficient. I will have A+, Network+ and Security+ certification shortly, I have a good understanding and experience in programming with C++ and Python, I have military training and experience with cryptologic theories and applications, and I have a little more than 2 years into a materials science and engineering undergraduate degree (subject to change).

There is a lot that goes into Cyber Warfare and I hardly understand any of the physical and technical parts of it.
I'm finding it very hard to explain what I mean. Perhaps it is best to use an example.