Options

The IT Stereotypes you have gotten in your career?

Bchen22Bchen22 Banned Posts: 58 ■■□□□□□□□□
Some of my friends and bosses who knew me that I work in IT where like so that means you know every single thing about computers right?

Oh so you work with nerds?

Its a man environment.

IT guys don't have a life nor get as much girls as they do. ( psh haha that one was funny that was BS)

You guys have gotten stereotype for you being IT Experts? If so what are they?

Comments

• Options
    E Double UE Double U Member Posts: 2,231 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Everyone thinks I fix computers. I've gotten so tired of explaining my roles that I actually started telling people I fix computers.
    Alphabet soup from (ISC)2, ISACA, GIAC, EC-Council, Microsoft, ITIL, Cisco, Scrum, CompTIA, AWS
  • Options
    NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    besides knowing everything about computers... you also probably know everything about every electronic device ever made! People will bring me random frickin' devices and ask me to fix it.
  • Options
    RomBUSRomBUS Member Posts: 699 ■■■■□□□□□□
    E Double U wrote: »
    Everyone thinks I fix computers. I've gotten so tired of explaining my roles that I actually started telling people I fix computers.

Yeah same thing.
  • Options
    EdificerEdificer Member Posts: 187 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Haha, a good response 'Don't worry, your brain just can't phantom it yet.'

It's the televised nerd hacker living in the basement image that has been projected over and over again to the public, they've been indoctrinated with it.

Working in IT + lifting heavy weights is a great combination.
    “Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall.” Confucius
  • Options
    bloodshotbettybloodshotbetty Member Posts: 215
    I haven't gotten any since I only decided to pursue IT 2 months ago.