Options

VCP exams

c0mptiac0mptia Member Posts: 149 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello All

I been searching the topping for a while but could not get an answer.
I am new to VMware process on how and where to take exam.

For COMPTIA exams ..i just logon to PearsonVue/Comptia to schedule for exam. BUT how do i do it
for VMWare? i registered at VMware.com but i dont see my ID under my profile?
Also does VMware require you to take their training first ? Or can i just study on my own and go to
PearsonVue schedule and take the exam? im so confuse???icon_sad.gif

please advise

Thanks in advance.:)

Comments

• Options
    thatguy67thatguy67 Member Posts: 344 ■■■■□□□□□□
    You have to take VMWare training before you're able to take the exam.

There is one "loophole" valid until Jan 2016 I believe: if you have a CCNA or CCNP in either R&S or Data Center, you can take the VCP-NV exam without any official VMWare course. Then you will be VCP status and can take the VCP5-DCV, etc.
    2017 Goals: []PCNSE7 []CCNP:Security []CCNP:R&S []LCDE []WCNA
  • Options
    Thanks..do you know which exam i should go first ( exam number ).?
  • Options
    scott28ttscott28tt Member Posts: 686 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Correction: Technically you can take the exam before the training, although as you would expect the training can help with the exam...

Follow this link and read up on whichever certification you wish to achieve: VMware Certification

The most common certification is the VCP in DCV, so VCP5-DCV or the new VCP6-DCV.
    VCP2 / VCP3 / VCP4 / VCP5 / VCAP4-DCA / VCI / vExpert 2010-2012
    Blog - http://vmwaretraining.blogspot.com
    Twitter - http://twitter.com/vmtraining
    Email - vmtraining.blog@gmail.com
  • Options
    scott28tt wrote: »
    Correction: Technically you can take the exam before the training, although as you would expect the training can help with the exam...

Follow this link and read up on whichever certification you wish to achieve: VMware Certification