Options

Beginner I.T professional here, need some advice.

CeelicCeelic Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm not exactly sure if this is supposed to go here or in the cert forum but I'll ask anyway. I'm new to the I.T field, I've got about 3 years of school behind me with a Certificate in Computer Information Systems and 8 months of practical experience in internships. I'm close to a diploma but still have to knock off some math-related courses which are a pain, hence the added year.

Anyways, I've got my A+ and am currently studying for my Network+. The A+ seems to be getting my resume noticed along with my educational experience. It seems however that I'm always knocked off for not having some extra added knowledge like maintaining domain controllers or administering a small Ubuntu Server. I was just wondering if the following cert path would be ideal for somebody who wants to be a Sys. Admin down the road. I would be doing them one after the other.

A+ (finished), Network+ (in progress), MCSA: Windows 7 or 8 and Server, Linux+.

Obviously I don't expect to jump straight into something 'super cool' right away, but I feel like this would round off my skill set nicely for a potential entry level job and then I could go for higher level certs later on after a few years of working. I feel like I've got more then enough practical experience for the A+/Network+, some practical for Windows 7 Client/Server from my internships and mostly educational experience for Linux+. What do you guys think?

Comments

• Options
    tahjzhuantahjzhuan Member Posts: 288 ■■■■□□□□□□
    It's a good path, but adding Sec+ or similar would enhance it.
  • Options
    NemowolfNemowolf Member Posts: 319 ■■■□□□□□□□