Options

Netural online references for learning about storage?

JockVSJockJockVSJock Member Posts: 1,118
I'm six months into my sys admin job and I'm new to storage (SAN, LUNs, Raw Disks, Data Stores and so forth).

So, I'm reaching out to others and want to see if there is any type of reference material online that others would recommend that is vendor neutral, that I can read from or use as reference.

thanks
***Freedom of Speech, Just Watch What You Say*** Example, Beware of CompTIA Certs (Deleted From Google Cached)

"Its easier to deceive the masses then to convince the masses that they have been deceived."
-unknown

Comments

• Options
    bertiebbertieb Member Posts: 1,031 ■■■■■■□□□□
    The EMC book "Information Storage and Management: Storing, Managing, and Protecting Digital Information in Classic, Virtualized, and Cloud Environments" should do you nicely for starters.

Don't be put off by the fact its an EMC book, it does mention EMC technologies in there but its mostly vendor neutral. What vendor are you using at the moment, I may be able to point you in further (deeper) directions :)
    The trouble with quotes on the internet is that you can never tell if they are genuine - Abraham Lincoln
  • Options
    bertieb wrote: »
    What vendor are you using at the moment, I may be able to point you in further (deeper) directions :)

We acutally have a mix, which I think is pretty common: EMC, Dell and HP.
    ***Freedom of Speech, Just Watch What You Say*** Example, Beware of CompTIA Certs (Deleted From Google Cached)

"Its easier to deceive the masses then to convince the masses that they have been deceived."
    -unknown
  • Options
    iBrokeITiBrokeIT Member Posts: 1,318 ■■■■■■■■■□
    +1 for EMC's "Information Storage and Management: Storing, Managing, and Protecting Digital Information in Classic, Virtualized, and Cloud Environments"

It really is a well written book that you shouldn't pass up because its not vendor neutral.