What cert to do next???

jbauman8296jbauman8296 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey all,

I am new here. I have some questions for some senior security guys regarding what cert I should do next. I have reached a point where I am unsure of which one to do next based on my current career path. My background is an equal mixture of non-technical and technical. I am security engineer now and got my CEHv8 last year to kick off my pen testing path. However, I am looking to move into management later on down the road but I don't think I am ready for the CISSP just yet. I have enough experience to do it but I have had some folks tell me to stick with some more lesser advanced certs first and then go for it. I am only 28 so I have a lot of career building left to do. I have considered other pen testing certs from SANS and Offensive Security as well as CRISC and CISA.

Any direction on what I should or could go for next other than the CISSP would be great. But if you think I should just do the CISSP or CISM based on your experiences with them I would be open to your post as well.

Cheers and thanks in advanced.

Comments

• TechGuru80TechGuru80 Member Posts: 1,539 ■■■■■■□□□□
    What about LPT? What do you want to do for your career? If incident response then forensics sruff would be good.
  • TechGuru80TechGuru80 Member Posts: 1,539 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Spell check and phone typing is never good lol. If you truly want to go into management CISSP is a must. I would probably think of CRISC as an afterthought.
  • TheFORCETheFORCE Member Posts: 2,297 ■■■■■■■■□□