Passed CISSP on 4/3

VeeiVeei Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
I registered here just to send out a thank you to this community for giving me advice and study tools to help me pass. It made a huge difference. To pay back, I'll try to give you my experience and study tools I used to pass (making sure I don't violate NDA, of course).

My experience: I'm a Network Engineer for a technology company and have been working in IT for over 12 years. Jobs held in the past: Field IT Technician, a Systems Admin for Windows/AD/Netware networks, Virtualization (VMware) Admin and Engineer, and as a Network Admin and Engineer. I now mostly deal with Cisco firewalls, routers, and switches with heavy focus on firewall security, VPN management for users and office tunnels, and wireless deployments.

Time taken to study: 6 weeks - Typically I averaged between 4 and 5 hours a day on days I did study (5 days/week typically). Took 3 days off work before test to really focus and solidify my knowledge and those days I put in a min of 12 hours with a couple 1 hour breaks here and there.

Tools used and notes:

• CBT Nuggets CISSP Course - Good start to get the groundwork for the CISSP but NOT to use as a sole source of information. There's a lot not covered in the course that is heavily relevant to the test. During the course, I made notes on a separate text file per video so I could go back and look and focus on specific domains without having to search through a wall of text. Also found it really helped to use a fixed width font and indent as I'm a very visual person and it helped me to find and organize the concepts much better.