Options

Getting necessary network/server experience...

BoneSpurBoneSpur Member Posts: 33 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello all. I have a question for all the wonderful people on this forum. I have my A+ and about to take the N+ test. I currently work as a level 2 help desk analyst. Issue is that I want to move into more of a network admin role. I have some experience with this, but the Network manager doesn't let anyone touch anything other than himself and the other Network Admin. I want to get more hands on experience so I can take a job outside my current company but how do I show this experience on a resume without lying as I do not want to mis-represent myself. Some of the jobs request a CCNA so I understand that I may need to pursue that.

Basically, I am stuck in my current role. I need to move up and jobs I am looking at have a laundry list of requirements. I normally meet about 75% of requirements.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,

Calvin
All the effort in the world won't matter if you're not inspired. - Chuck Palahniuk

Comments

• Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    Just have to find someone willing to give you a chance to touch the good stuff.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□

ohhhhhh yeaaaaa icon_redface.gif

Get your networking certs and show him your putting in the work to learn the stuff. If they still don't give you an opportunity to grow you will need to look at other companies. Just another reason why there is so much job hopping in IT.
  • Options
    srabieesrabiee Member Posts: 1,231 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Try researching a cheap CCNA study lab. There are plenty of articles on that topic on Techexams and Google. If you can't get the hands-on experience at work, getting it at home is the next best thing. Also, you can be studying for the CCNA simultaneously, which will help your career prospects.