Options

Too much to choose from!

NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
Does anyone else have the problem with sticking to one area of IT? I'm still fairly new in IT (only been doing it a few years) but I want to learn about everything! Virtualization sounds like cool field to get into, love learning about how networks work together, interested on servers and how to set everything up to work together, learning about Security and how to protect (and get into) systems sounds pretty sweet as well, and I even enjoy programming...

I think I have a hard time sticking to one thing, I'll be learning about one thing, then be like "oh look at that shiny thing over there! thats look pretty cool!" Anyone else run in to this problem? Makes it hard to focus on one thing when studying sometimes...

Comments

• Options
    VeritiesVerities Member Posts: 1,162
    I have the same problem...I study for one subject, then think to myself...that looks cool and jump over to it. Its really tough for me to focus on long term objectives when it comes to certifications. When I started here on the forums, I was going for CCENT, then Net +, then VCA, then VCP, then RHCSA, then Server +, and now MCSA 2012. Its taken me a month and a half just to schedule my 70-410 exam lol.

I recently sat down and wrote out my goals as well as how to achieve them. Its helping me keep focus on what I'm trying to accomplish.
  • Options
    ssnyderu2ssnyderu2 Member Posts: 475 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Im with you on this! I want my CCNA, MCSA and whatever else all at the same time. Its very easy to get distracted. I just try to focus on one at a time. I also do a goal schedule. This year I have Storage+ (to renew my CompTIA certs), CCENT/CCNA and CCNA Security. CCNA Security would renew my CompTIA certs, just wont get it finished in time. icon_sad.gif. Next year I am thinking MCSA 2012 and the year after that, CCNP.
    2019 Goals: 70-698, CCENT, MCSA 2016