Options

vCenter server is not displayed in the inventory list

smailksmailk Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am new to virtualization. I have installed the ESXi 5.5 on a PowerEdge 2950 server. Then I installed vCenter server on a windows 2008 standard (not a domain controller) machine. I can connect to ESXi with a vsphere client. Though, when I log in to the vsphere web client, I don't see anything in the inventory list. My goal is to install Autolab on ESXi. I believe I need to create a datacenter first and then add the ESXi host. Now, shouldn't it display the vcenter server in the list or am I missing something here?

Comments

• Options
    iBrokeITiBrokeIT Member Posts: 1,318 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Log in with the vCenter local account and give permission to what ever account you want to use.
    2019: GPEN | GCFE | GXPN | GICSP | CySA+ 
    2020: GCIP | GCIA 
    2021: GRID | GDSA | Pentest+ 
    2022: GMON | GDAT
    2023: GREM  | GSE | GCFA

WGU BS IT-NA | SANS Grad Cert: PT&EH | SANS Grad Cert: ICS Security | SANS Grad Cert: Cyber Defense Ops SANS Grad Cert: Incident Response
  • Options
    dave330idave330i Member Posts: 2,091 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Is the vCenter server virtual?
    Did you add the ESXi host to vCenter?
    2018 Certification Goals: Maybe VMware Sales Cert
    "Simplify, then add lightness" -Colin Chapman
  • Options
    I will try iBrokIT's suggestion.

vCenter sever is not virtual. It is installed on a windows 2008 (non-domain) physical box. I haven't created the datacenter or added the ESXi. I thought vCenter whould appear in the list.

vsphere client and vsphere web client are also on the same windows 2008 server.
  • Options
    Your vCenter will not show in the inventory list since it is not virtual.
  • Options
    Ok I didn't know that. Can I create a datacenter without selecting a vcenter server?
  • Options
    smailk wrote: »
    Ok I didn't know that. Can I create a datacenter without selecting a vcenter server?