Options

Online Degrees

zaleonardzzaleonardz Member Posts: 61 ■■□□□□□□□□
While are on the topic of degree's as per the previous thread,whats the take on online degree's. ?

I somehow, in my 70-462 study avoidance stumbled on to this.

Doctorate in Business Administration - AU Faculty of Business

I did my MBA through university of Livepool in the UK, an although they are not Harvard, they were quite a bit ahead of the South African Universities in the Ward top 200 list.

I am planning on putting in my application to become a Canadian Citizen soon, maybe this is not a bad idea.

What are your views folks, are online Masters/Doctorates frowned on.

The Masters, while I did it in my PJ's, and wrote no exams at all... but it was murder.

8 modules at 8 weeks each.

3 written documents a week of a least 1200 words each, group project.

Then, and this part I loved, is that your work for the week is posted on a forum, and it is a marked objective that you engage others in their work, ie reading, comparing and discussing.

What makes it interesting, is because its all computer based, your fellow students are from all walks of life, and many cultures differ in answers.

ANybody here done an Online degree,

Comments

• Options
    GAngelGAngel Member Posts: 708 ■■■■□□□□□□
    AU is well known in Alberta lots of mid ranked pro's go there from cgy and edm. I'm not sure how many grads it would have from the other provinces as online degrees aern't really massive here. It won't be known outside Canada if that matters to you.

I've heard nothing but good stuff about there program from a friend who did the MBA and he's an ad exec at ibm but I don't know anyone else who's gone through anything from them.
  • Options
    NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I know alot people on here will bash this, but my wife is a HR manager and she hates online degrees. icon_twisted.gif