Options

Passed the CISSP – Thank you Braindumps!

Spin LockSpin Lock Member Posts: 142
Okay, okay, put the flamethrowers away. The braindump comment was a joke! There are like 20 “Passed” threads today, so I thought I’d try some creative advertising!

I did pass last Thursday, and that’s definitely not a joke! I owe everyone who contributes to this forum a huge debt of gratitute.

So, in an effort to pay that goodwill forward, here’s the breakdown of my exam prep and test experience:

My Background

I’ve got 15+ years of work experience. I started my career in semiconductor design, designing network-related ASICs such as switch fabrics, RAID controllers, packet forwarding engines, traffic managers, and ATM SARs.

Over the years, I gradually shifted from the hardware side of networking to the software. I currently work for a multicore processor company and I support customers who use it for crypto acceleration and various kind of deep packet inspection.

Why did I decide to pursue the CISSP?

My job doesn’t require CISSP certification, but all the customers I work with are designing IDS/IPS systems, SSL proxies, and secure web gateways. Since I spend all my time working in network security anyways, I decided to pursue the CISSP.

I didn’t want the CISSP to land a new job, rather I wanted to increase the breadth of my understanding of the security industry.

My goal was not to find the fastest way to add the title “CISSP” to my resume. My goal has always been to gain a holistic understanding of security – to learn more about those domains that I don’t touch in my job. This means I wasn’t trying to cram for the exam or look for ways to skip topics that might not show up on the test. To the contrary, I wanted to drill down into the nuts and bolts of every domain.

How long did I prepare?