Options

Passing the VCP5-DCV with no networking/server experience

OakparktechOakparktech Member Posts: 64 ■■□□□□□□□□
Can I honestly pass the VCP5-DCV with no server/network experience?
I have 7 years desktop experience but no high level server/network experience...

I completed my VCA-DCV and stanly community college vSphere5.5 online training. I setup a nested lab on an HP Proliant server.
looking at the Blueprint, it requires a lot of experience to run thru the blueprint...

I really enjoy vmware and I cannot get experience at my job. what to do.

any advice will be appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    EssendonEssendon Member Posts: 4,546 ■■■■■■■■■■
    You sure can, it'll just take longer. Dive into the Mastering vSphere book, build a lab on your server and see how you go.
    NSX, NSX, more NSX..

Blog >> http://virtual10.com
  • Options
    dave330idave330i Member Posts: 2,091 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I passed VCP4 when I had 4 months IT experience. Granted 4 was easier to pass with less experience vs 5.x.
    2018 Certification Goals: Maybe VMware Sales Cert
    "Simplify, then add lightness" -Colin Chapman
  • Options
    joelsfoodjoelsfood Member Posts: 1,027 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Get Scott Lowe's book and start studying, it's definitely possible. LAB LAB LAB Don't expect to get it done in a month though.
  • Options
    burfectburfect Member Posts: 128
    I think you'll be fine... I posted a somewhat related thread on diving into VMW first (http://www.techexams.net/forums/virtualization/108393-opinions-learning-vmw-first.html#post916764) just by nature of where I landed career wise and the feedback was positive.

Scott Lowe's book is really good as mentioned.
  • Options
    OakparktechOakparktech Member Posts: 64 ■■□□□□□□□□