Options

MTA Exams, scarce study materials?

TheReceiverTheReceiver Member Posts: 43 ■■□□□□□□□□

Web Development Fundamentals: MTA Exam 98-363

Database Administration Fundamentals: MTA Exam 98-364

Software Development Fundamentals: MTA Exam 98-361

These are the 3 certifications I am currently interested in since they seem to be integrated into the WGU - Network Security bachelors plan.

I am currently studying for Security+ exam and for the most part have a pretty good grasp of the content so far. Upon recommendation from here I got the book authored by Darril Gibson and so far its been a great tool. I got about 100 pages left before I start reviewing content and taking some practice exams (measureup).

However I do like to spend a little time reading reviews on other study materials before investing. It seems the Wiley book is the only thing out there and its got mixed reviews. Im sure I would be ok if I extract everything I could from it (as this is not within my field of expertise).

However I am strapped for cash, the books seem to be 60-100 dollars and measureups are 85, the cert is 75. Thats a lot of cash for a cert that really doesnt carry much weight for me. I can get my school to cover the cost of the cert but that still leaves me with a hefty investment of 600 for 3 exams.

Also, time is a factor. I work in Down town dallas and commute about 1.5-2 hours. I just go to school after work as its a 20-30 minute drive and study certs until 930p-10p. So I cant really spend much time running around used book stores or library at the moment, though I would have time after completing Security+ as ill not have a cert that im working on at the time.

I know this is a first post, and I havent really contributed to this forum quite yet, but I would very much appreciate some insight on the cheapest and most efficient method to carry out these certs.

Thanks in advance everyone!

Comments

• Options
    ssnyderu2ssnyderu2 Member Posts: 475 ■■■□□□□□□□