Options

CompTIA A+, N+, S+ and Business Degree. Need Help.

businessnitbusinessnit Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello all,

I am a newbie to the IT world. I am a bit lost as to where to start my career path. I am currently in college for a BS in Business Management, I graduate (finish) December 27th, from there I will start an MBA-MIS concentration program in January. The program should take between a year and a year and three months. In the mean time I enrolled in a 3 certificate program that starts in a few weeks. I will be obtaining my A+, Network+, and Security+ in this 3 month program. I am interested in Project Management, but have notice that there are no Junior PM jobs where I live. I have looked into IT consulting(Managed Services) and System Analyst. I have found that there are a few opportunities here,some require little to no experience, and some require a minimum of 2 years. I have been around computers for about 20 years. I have mainly dealt with the Internet/Web design aspect of it. I have owned and operated online businesses and have been intrigued by business since I can remember. My Ultimate plan is to combine my two passions and become a PM, from there I'll consider Director, or CIO. Can anyone advise me of any business related entry level positions with my current situation? I would love to hear from both people in the business aspect of IT as well as all other aspects. I appreciate you all.

Comments

• Options
    srabieesrabiee Member Posts: 1,231 ■■■■■■■■□□
    As far as certs go, have you thought about pursuing the CompTIA Project+ and then moving on to PMI certification? Your business degree will certainly give you leverage to land a good position, as will the MBA-MIS when the time comes.

What area do you live in?
    WGU Progress: Master of Science - Information Technology Management (Start Date: February 1, 2015)
    Completed: LYT2, TFT2, JIT2, MCT2, LZT2, SJT2 (17 CU's)
    Required: FXT2, MAT2, MBT2, C391, C392 (13 CU's)