Options

Career Change from Banking to IT

DodgersDodgers Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone,

I graduated in 2012 with a BA in Econ and have been working in commercial banking as a loan officer ever since.
I was never truly happy in the banking industry and have finally decided to make a career change before it's too late!

IT was something that always interested me. However, I only have a very basic understanding of computers and networking.
I do however realize that without any experience or certifications, I would have to start from scratch, but I am okay with that.

Considering my lack of experience, how difficult would the A+ exam be?
Will it be possible for me to get a help desk job without at least the A+ certification?
Will it be beneficial for me to earn a second bachelors in an IT-related field?
Can you recommend some online resources or threads that will help me discover/explore specific career paths?

I would really appreciate your input.
Thanks guys!

Comments

• Options
    Codeman6669Codeman6669 Member Posts: 227
    A+ isnt too hard honestly. Its just a lot of memorization and time studying
    Yes its possible to get a job with just A+. its sorta tough, but they are out there. entry level helpdeskk/pc tech
    mmm.... personally i would go after higher level certifications. A degree in I.T. wont really make you much more valuable and it would cost a lot more then certs, and take longer.
  • Options
    anhtran35anhtran35 Member Posts: 466
    Considering my lack of experience, how difficult would the A+ exam be?
    Not difficult. Read a book on A+; Watch Professor Messer videos( FREE ) www.professormesser.com; There are 2 test in A+ exam.

Will it be possible for me to get a help desk job without at least the A+ certification?
    Help Desk jobs can either be hardware/software/application support. So the answer is YES. However, a hiring manager will probably favor someone with an A+ over someone that doesn't have one.