Options

Passed CISSP 04/13/15 - Endorsement will take 8 weeks. LOL

jota1234jota1234 Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
Oh boy what a journey!

I passed CISSP exam on 04/13/15. It was no different from what people have been saying in the other threads! I can say that 75% of what I studied was there. 15% of what I didn't study also there and 10 % of what I had never heard / read about was there! LOL

About me: Over 10 year experience in network and network security. CCNP sec, CISA, PMP and Cobit certified. I've been a member of this group for a while (2007 i guess) and been using it for reference since then. Very very very useful!

Preparation:
It took me about 12 months to prepare. I am married and have a 3 years old son. So time was a big deal. I used mostly AIO 6th edition as main reference. When reading it for the 2nd time I wrote down notes for every chapter and cut all the crap and analogies within it. Then only used them as reference. I tried to read Eric Conrad 2nd edition. But I had already read AIO once, so really felt that it lacked info and would not be enough so I dropped it.

Basically this is what I used :

AIO 6th Edition - Main reference (Read twice)
AIO chapter notes ( about 30 to 40 pages per chapter)
Eric Conrad 2nd - Read 2 chapters
Shon harris audio from McGraw Hill website
Youtube videos for EAP, Kerberos, SSL, Cryptography and so on.
Wikipedia / google search for some topics.
Whatsapp Group - Very very very useful - I created this since I wanted to talk about CISSP more often ( on daily basis). About 90 members around the world. We shared ideas, docs and so on. Most important, good way to build a nice friendship. :)

Practice tools:

McGraw Hill website - Very Useful. Took all chapters Q&As once.
Total tester - Very Useful. Took all chapter Q&As once.