Options

Took the new CISSP CBK today (21Apr15)

cperkins21cperkins21 Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
...and get ready to wait at least 6 weeks to get your results.

About me: I have over 10 years’ experience in InfoSec/Cyber Security. Completed my BS in Cybersecurity through UMUC and currently 12 credits down in my MS in Cybersecurity. I’ve worked everything from basic mainframes, long-haul circuits, Certification & Accreditation and currently work in Cyber Defense; firewall, McAfee ePO, Tenable Nessus, log analysis, etc. I’ve also worked a number of aspects of Communication Security/Crypto and multiple disciples in Information Assurance.

Preparation:
I’ve been preparing on and off over the last couple years. Took a CISSP class as part of my undergraduate degree a couple years ago which included LabSim from Testout and last week I took a 6 day bootcamp through Infosec Institute (companied paid for)

Basically this is what I used :

AIO 6th Edition - Main reference
Eric Conrad – 11th Hour

ISC2 CISSP CBK 4th Edition
LearnSmart Systems CISSP Audio

InfoSec Institute Course Materials

Practice tools:

AIO 6th Edition Chapter Questions – Pro-tip… go back and highlight specifically where the answers are in the book. This helped immensely.

Also did 140 questions at the end… went back and highlighted.

Eric Conrad’s practice exams (http://booksite.elsevier.com/companion/conrad/practice_exams.php) Free

Skillset.com CISSP (free)
Questions in CBK 4th Edition

CCCure.training drag and drop and hotspot questions

InfoSec Practice Exams (500 total questions)

I probably went though about 2500 total questions.

I was not surprised by anything on the test for those hesitant about the new CBK. Took me 2 hours 40 minutes to complete and 20 minutes of review. I feel good about the test, but will have to wait 6 weeks to get the results. I’ll keep you guys posted.

Up next: In order: CEH, CFHI, GSEC, GCIA Gold, GCIH Gold, GSE

Comments

• Options