Options

MS:ISA begins June 1

12346»

Comments

• Options
    xeruanxeruan Member Posts: 146 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Congrats on the acceptance at GT. Do you have much programming experience or do they have on-ramp classes for non-programming IT students?

I appreciate it. While they do accept some non-CompSci/CompEng backgrounded students who show knowledge through industry experience or other means into the program, I'm not exactly sure how they determine what is enough. I haven't heard that they have any on-ramp classes per se, they just require you to learn it before or during the course.

I graduated in December 2014 with dual Bachelors degrees: one in Forensic Science with concentrations in Biology and Chemistry, and another in Computer Science with a concentration in Computer Forensics and Security. So I got stuck with all of the various programming courses required by a normal compsci degree - C++, Java/Software Development, Xcode/Objective C, Assembly, and the like. Unfortunately, I didn't get the opportunity of learning what I would have preferred (Perl/Python), but I am looking to pick that up during the GT courses.
  • Options
    xeruanxeruan Member Posts: 146 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I had thought about posting last week after I got home from my interviews, but thought I'd hold off until later. I had felt they both went well, and I was anxious to see if I would hear back.

Turns out, I was recently offered the job that I had wanted - a cleared Security Engineer position. Since I just graduated from college last December, I have to admit, I'm a bit surprised and relieved that I will be able to take this position (pending the interim clearance).