Cert's for IT managment?

pcgizzmopcgizzmo Member Posts: 127
All,

I'm looking for certs that might help me in my managment role. I've been recently promoted. I don't have a college degree so I'm looking for anything that might help me long term at my current job and possibly in future positions to offset the fact I don't have a college degree. I've thought about going back to school but at 45 honestly don't see myself doing it.

Before my promotion I was a system/network admin for 15 years and previous to that worked as a consultant.

Thanks..

Comments

• dave330idave330i Member Posts: 2,091 ■■■■■■■■■■
    ITIL is popular in the US.
    2018 Certification Goals: Maybe VMware Sales Cert
    "Simplify, then add lightness" -Colin Chapman
  • colemiccolemic Member Posts: 1,569 ■■■■■■■□□□
    Do you have any certs? I hate seeing people give up on the possibility of getting a college degree... please check out WGU. They tie certs and degrees together, which could be doubly helpful for you.
    Working on: staying alive and staying employed
  • N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Pure IT Management, I'd have to agree with Dave ITIL would be the biggest one. RUP, PMI, even Six Sigma etc at time mention ITIL, it's really done well in penatrating that space. It's a framework that allows other methodologies to snap into it and leverage it.

ITIL V3 Foundation would be a really good one to get. Not only is it popular in the states it's popular in a lot of countries, EU, LATAM, etc.

With that said I think it's common sense, but paper is paper so this might just help you get over the "hump"
  • pcgizzmopcgizzmo Member Posts: 127
    colemic wrote: »
    Do you have any certs? I hate seeing people give up on the possibility of getting a college degree... please check out WGU. They tie certs and degrees together, which could be doubly helpful for you.