Do you think I made a mistake jumping right into studying for CCENT?

Raymond MasonRaymond Mason Member Posts: 74 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello! You know I have been studying CCENT for a while. Been going slow though, I am just learning the console commands. I have never had networking experience before I studied for this. I heard that a beginner should really get his Network+ before taking on Cisco. I also heard that Cisco kinds of expects you to know these basic things before doing them. I admit I was a bit overwhelmed when I first studied it.

I really think its too late to turn back now personally. Should I just go for my CCENT anyways now? What do you guys think?

Comments

• NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I say keep going. You can look over the Net+ and skim any topics you don't know. But I like the idea of jumping right into CCENT. CCENT is ALOT more interesting than the Net+ imo too. Just keep at it, the CCENT is still basic networking...
  • networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    Forget the N+ cert if you plan on getting Cisco certs. No point in wasting money on both. Learn the basics and push on towards your CCNA. That's where you'll see the return on your investment.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • quickman007quickman007 Member Posts: 195
    I would skim through the Network+ material at some point, but the cert itself is worthless (in my opinion) if you've got your CCNA.
  • Raymond MasonRaymond Mason Member Posts: 74 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Forget the N+ cert if you plan on getting Cisco certs. No point in wasting money on both. Learn the basics and push on towards your CCNA. That's where you'll see the return on your investment.