Looking for a little direction

SouthernJourneymanSouthernJourneyman Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
Just looking for a little guidance on future career plans. I am a veteran and while in the service I worked primarily with radios. I was cross trained on our LAN and also satellite systems. After leaving the service I wandered through various jobs over the years, none in the tech sector since I didn't really have the knowledge base to go into networking. But I am not to happy with the career I am in and have realized I really miss working with all the networking stuff.

So I have a few questions. I am looking at pursuing my CCNA: Routing and Switching and then going into security after that. I plan on using this course at the moment CCNA along with much of the free stuff I have run across here and elsewhere.

What other certifications might I need to pursue? I am thinking it would be good to go after some of the non-vendor specific certs as well. And would it be a good idea to pursue some of the Microsoft/Linux/Os X type certs? I'm sure it wouldn't hurt at all, but I want to focus on what is going to get me in a job, even if it's help desk to start. Which it will likely be.

If it matters I am currently a nurse's assistant and have not touched any sort of network stuff in 5+ years so I have quite a bit of catching up to do.

Thanks
Iz

Comments

• HAMPHAMP Member Posts: 163
    Hey Iz, that sounds like a great start going to the University. The time involved seems to be pretty good compared to some sort of bootcamp where everything is crammed into 6weeks or less course. That 24 week schedule might be long for some or to short for others, but since you don't currently have any other certs for the tech world, it maybe just right for you.