Passed CISSP this morning, lots of details inside

joshmadakorjoshmadakor Member Posts: 495 ■■■■□□□□□□
I used about 3.5 hours of the total 6
I was unsure or guessed on 67 of the 250 total questions (flagged them)

My background is about 6 years full-time in State govt IT operations with the certs/degree listed under my name. I found the quality of the test and questions to be very high and thought out. There were a few things that appeared on the exam that I have never seen or heard of before. There were probably about 20-30 "gimme" questions, but the rest made me work. I can't say that I enjoyed the study or test experience because they were grueling and nerve-wracking.

Now...on to my study methods! (there is a summary at the bottom of this post):

Anki:
I heavily utilized Anki for much of my studying. Anki is a spaced repetition software that incorporates increasing intervals of time between subsequent review of previously learned material. I felt using Anki was necessary because there is such a large amount of information. I created 2129 custom flash cards in Anki based on the materials below and reviewed them daily for the first 2 months of my preparation (averaging about 200-300 cards daily). Note: I have used Anki to study Japanese and I find it is the best possible way (for me) to memorize large amounts of information as efficiently/quickly as possible.

Transcender(CISSP 2012) 984 questions / 1040 flashcards:
I started my studies with this. I did each question at least two times, and used the explanations to the answers to create flash cards in Anki: FOR EXAMPLE. I also went through the Transcender flash cards once and added anything I was unfamiliar with to my Anki deck.

Transcender(CISSP 2015) 886 questions / 894 flashcards: