Options

CISSP aspirant - Guidance needed

sania91sania91 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am an electronic engineering graduate. I have been working in an ISP as ISO27001 implementer and auditor for 2.5 years. I have passed IRCA LA exam last year and hoping to clear CISSP this year. I have a few questions:

1. As per my understanding CISSP exam may be taken any time of the year?
2. After registration I will have 3 attempts to clear the exam?
3. I don't have to be an IT related grad to pass the exam?
4. Shon Harris 6th edition is the latest one?
5. Please post links of other relevant study sources

Comments

• Options
    cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    Welcome aboard. To answer some of your questions:
    - You can take it any day that the testing center has an opening
    - Anyone who pays can take the exam. If you don't meet the experience requirement you'll have up to 6 years to gain it.
    - Harris (6th ed.) and the Conrad books are good resources

Your best bet is to search here for the "Passed CISSP" threads to see what others did.
  • Options
    TheFORCETheFORCE Member Posts: 2,297 ■■■■■■■■□□
    You must have 5 years of experience in at least 2 of the domains covered in the CISSP. One year can be waved if you hold a degree. With the information you have given right now you lack the required experience unless you were working in an IT Security role prior to your 2.5 years. You can take the exam but you won't be recognized as a full CISSP until you complete the experience requirements.
  • Options
    the_Grinchthe_Grinch Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■
    The 2.5 years in an audit role should count. You would still be required to start off as an Associate, but I believe if you stay in your current role for another 1.5 years you would then become a full CISSP.
    WIP:
    PHP
    Kotlin
    Intro to Discrete Math
    Programming Languages
    Work stuff
  • Options
    kukkukukku Member Posts: 130 ■■□□□□□□□□
    sania91 wrote: »