Options

Entry Level Jobs

RellyRaleRellyRale Member Posts: 17 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello I have been following the site for a while now and I want to thank everyone for your tips and suggestions. I was able to learn a lot to help me get ahead of the mark and I passed both my A+ exams last week. Im currently in Lab Four training to get my MCSA Win 7 to take the 70-680 and 70-685. I currently make $12 as a document scanner but I want to get something of equal pay or more to get my foot in the door. My first couple interviews the question is asked what is your IT background. I have no formal IT background or professional background in the field. I am very knowledgeable about the concepts as I have been studying for quite some time and I have done computer repair on the side since the late 90s. How do I convince these interviewers that I can do the job without having any experience. How do I convince them to give me a chance. I feel like I do really well in the interviews and I feel like they like me and understand I know my stuff but I've been honest about not having any professional experience. Any suggestions are quite welcome.

Comments

• Options
    Mike-MikeMike-Mike Member Posts: 1,860
    A+ should allow you to get some type of help desk job.
    Currently Working On

CWTS, then WireShark
  • Options
    bmnaughtbmnaught Banned Posts: 21 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Try internships or volunteers
  • Options
    BlackBeretBlackBeret Member Posts: 683 ■■■■■□□□□□
    "What experience do you have in IT?"

"My experience has been mostly been formal education and self study on my home lab, the IT market where I lived before was very small and there were no entry level positions, but I enjoyed it so much that I earned my degree while working full time in another field and continued studying regularly on my own and obtained X certifications, actively research emerging trends and resources in IT, etc."
  • Options
    Dakinggamer87Dakinggamer87 Member Posts: 4,016 ■■■■■■■■□□