Options

Newbie so bare with me

Abhishek a.k.a BlackshielAbhishek a.k.a Blackshiel Member Posts: 22 ■□□□□□□□□□
I was reading few threads, eventually it made a new query for me. What i understood was CISSP is a mid level (level 3) cert. Whereas i'm new to all this so should i go for a security+ cert first which is a level 1 cert ( read this at some thread ) and enter into some related job and prepare for CISSP along side ( which would be easier if im right? ) or straight away CISSP give it 6 months of studies.
If sec+ is the suggestion please tell me details which one to opt for its exam pattern and whether ISC2 hosts this or some else reputed. Also will this wipe a year of exp for cissp.

Comments

• Options
    analystanalyst Member Posts: 48 ■■□□□□□□□□
    If you're a newbie, ISC2 will let you get the Associate designation but I question how valuable that will be to you. You'd almost certainly be better off getting the Sec+ or the GSEC which are good ground-floor certs for technical roles in Infosec.

Unless, of course, your target organization's HR is run by clowns who require you go become a CISSP Associate in which case you don't have much choice.
  • Options
    BlackBeretBlackBeret Member Posts: 683 ■■■■■□□□□□
    You're correct, CISSP is a higher level exam. If you're new to security start with Security+. This will help prepare you for the CISSP later on, and take 1 year off of the requirements.
  • Options
    JasionoJasiono Member Posts: 896 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I stand corrected!
  • Options
    jt2929jt2929 Member Posts: 244 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I'd go with Sec+ first since you don't have the experience required for CISSP. Also, Security+ is administered by CompTIA, not ISC2, and this certification will waive one year of experience towards CISSP.
  • Options
    jt2929jt2929 Member Posts: 244 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Jasiono wrote: »
    Security+ does not take off a year, it's the SSCP that does that.