Question on MSP Job

nathandrakenathandrake Member Posts: 69 ■■■□□□□□□□
So here's a little background on me. I've been working for the same company for 14 years. It's a large enterprise of about 20k people. I've slowly progressed from a help desk level 1 up to a Senior Desktop Technician that has been getting more involved with the virtual administration side of things over the last few months (so I'm hoping this may come with a job title change).

I was offered a level 2 technician role at an MSP where I'd make about $6k more a year. Although I'd go from having about 5 weeks of paid vacation a year to 12 days. From my research of MSPs, it seems like it's all phone/remote support. So to me, it would feel like I'm almost going back to a help desk position. The only thing that stood out to me is that I'd be administrating firewalls, which my career goal is to get into the security field. I'll be completing my WGU MSISA this term. I just don't know if adding that small "firewall administration" would really help with my goals. Plus I really don't want to end up being on the phones all day long. I got enough of that when working at the help desk. My gut instinct is to decline the offer and keep on looking for a security analyst job, but my wife is trying to push me to take it for the extra income. Any advice on anyone that has worked or works at an MSP if the job is enjoyable, or was it more miserable. Obviously, each company is going to be slightly different, so I know to keep that in mind.

Comments

• InfoTech92InfoTech92 Member Posts: 75 ■■□□□□□□□□
    At my MSP we have a Linux team, project/sysadmin team, jr. Sysadmin team, Cyber Security team, a SOC, and a NOC. So no, not every MSP is all help desk. That depends on what type of MSP you work for though.
  • nathandrakenathandrake Member Posts: 69 ■■■□□□□□□□
    InfoTech92 wrote: »