Whats it like working in IT Private Sector?

Bchen2Bchen2 Banned Posts: 67 ■■□□□□□□□□
Since I never worked in IT Private Sector whats the environment like?

Here in the public my skills are developed slowly and career progression is slow as well but the hours benefits and managers rock as well as stability

The pay isn't that great and raises are kinda slow here

Anyone know hows life in the IT private sector?

Comments

• bpennbpenn Member Posts: 499
    I am also curious as I work in the DoD sector. Not much career progression here, either. I have to do it on my own. Raises suck, too.
    "If your dreams dont scare you - they ain't big enough" - Life of Dillon
  • Bchen2Bchen2 Banned Posts: 67 ■■□□□□□□□□
  • TR4V1STYTR4V1STY Member Posts: 62 ■■■□□□□□□□
    That's a VERY broad question.
  • CodyyCodyy Member Posts: 223 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Interested too, transitioning military focusing primarily on public sector positions, wonder if I'm missing anything by not looking at private sector positions..
  • cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    What an awful question. This is the equivalent of asking how good it is to marry a blonde. She could be:
    - a perfect companion
    - a crazy person
    - focused on making you miserable
    - willing to sacrifice her happiness for yours
    - a good mother
    - the worst mother
    - a super sexy alien trying to abduct you and performs all kinds of probing to enhance their species

To sum up, it could be any number of things and although they may share characteristics, no two are alike.
  • LenniusceLenniusce Member Posts: 114 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I'll take a stab at it since i've has 3 private sector jobs, 2 DoD jobs:

DoD Experiences:
    • Slower pace then Private
    • Technology is usually behind the times (Proxy server, really?)
    • "Good enough for the Government" type personalities (there is a GS sleeping in the cubical behind me as I speak)
    • Low raises since the contracts are bid aggressively