Options

Exam Prep & Requirements

g33k3rg33k3r Member Posts: 249 ■■□□□□□□□□
First of all, thanks to everyone for sharing their advice on what was useful in passing their exam! I have two questions.

1. Has anyone found the bootcamp trainings successful? I have looked into a few where the exam is offered on the 6th day.

2. To be endorsed you need 5 years in 2 of the 8 domains. I have over 12 years of Sys Admin experience. Currently my title has changed to a Security Analyst (less than a year). Would I have enough years of experience to be endorsed since a majority of my experience is Sys Admin related?

Thanks!!

Comments

• Options
    cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    In regards to point #2, while a Sys admin, did you perform tasks that can be mapped to the domains? If so, you should be good.
  • Options
    At one organization I was there 8 years and was the sole IT person. I am not sure which domains these responsibilities would fall, but these are some of the things I've done over the last 12 years.

- Server hardening
    - Patch Management
    - Hardware & Software Procurement
    - End User Training
    - AV Management
    - Email security
    - Firewalls
    - System Automation
    - IDS
    - SCCM

More recently (1 - 2 years)
    - SIEM
    - Security Awareness
    - PCI
    - Writing Policies
    - Malware Analysis

Thanks!

• Options
    TheFORCETheFORCE Member Posts: 2,297 ■■■■■■■■□□
    g33k3r wrote: »
    At one organization I was there 8 years and was the sole IT person. I am not sure which domains these responsibilities would fall, but these are some of the things I've done over the last 12 years.

- Server hardening
    - Patch Management
    - Hardware & Software Procurement
    - End User Training
    - AV Management
    - Email security
    - Firewalls
    - System Automation
    - IDS
    - SCCM

More recently (1 - 2 years)
    - SIEM
    - Security Awareness
    - PCI
    - Writing Policies
    - Malware Analysis

Thanks!