Minus 2 rule - confusing me!!

morsmors Member Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi, I'm new to the forums, so hello to everyone and I'm going to post a newb question! :)

I'm studying for my ccna, and hope I have subnetting cracked, BUT, in the last few days, a seed of doubt has been placed in my mind!
I have always stood by the rule of 2x-2 for calculating hosts AND subnets, but whilst I've been doing loads of subnetting revision over the last few days, I found a website that generates random subnet questions and it seems to be using '2x' for calculating subnets!! Now all the books I've read have told me to knock off 1 for the top end broadcast and 1 for the low end zero network. This made me question if I was doing it right, so I asked a CCNP at work and he told me that it was definately not -2, he said -2 was only for calculating hosts, and 2x was the right rule for calculating subnets. I explained that I wanted to know for my pending ccna exam and he at no point mentioned cidr or ip subnet zero. So now I'm worried.
When I take the ccna, what formula should I use for any subnetting questions? 2x-2 or 2x? I'm hoping I'm just to use the -2 rule/formula for every question but now its got me worried!

TIA

Mors

Comments

• kplabkplab Member Posts: 101
    Traditionally, zero subnet and all-ones subnet were reserved. However, Cisco routers can be configured to override that using the command "(config)#ip subnet-zero". This command is enabled by default since IOS version 12.0. You can find more details about this topic in the following Cisco paper:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/tech/tk648/tk361/technologies_tech_note09186a0080093f18.shtml

In the exam, you will be told whether ip subnet-zero is enabled.
    KPLAB
    www.kp-lab.com - Free CCNA, CCNP, and Network+ Study Guides
  • xwesleyxwillisxxwesleyxwillisx Member Posts: 158