Options

802 confusions for a noob

KeeksKeeks Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am so happy I found this site. I am a complete IT noob and somehow managed to pass the 801 after 11 weeks of studying. I've never had any formal IT Tech experience so this has been difficult. Now I am stressing about taking the 802 on Friday. My issues..

I am using 3 different resources and all of them have different command prompt switches listed. Professor Messer for example doesn't have all the switches UCertify contains, or LabSim (my school resources). I know the basics and everything on the Objective sheet but the Objective sheet doesn't even list any switches!

For mobile devices, do I need to memorize all the port numbers specific to configuring email to the specific program? Like Thunderbird, Exchange, Gmail, etc. since I notice they all use different TLS and SSL port numbers.

Some of my resources list information about Windows 2000 but I didn't think 2000 was on the test. Is it???? It's not on the objectives!?

I'm having a hard time wrapping my head around all the different types of permissions/attributes. I am confusing the two and then there are shared permissions and user groups. I am mixing all of them together and it's confusing me.

I've been studying for 9 weeks and have been finalizing things by using the Objectives sheet. If anyone has any advice for someone as new as myself, I would really appreciate it! I'm pulling my hair out! Sorry for this being so long!

Comments

• Options
    vinnypolstonvinnypolston Member Posts: 53 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Hey Keeks! Great job on passing the 801! You can do this. Prepare yourself and be confident and you can nail the 802. Some of your specific questions though:

Email port numbers are not specific to the email client (Thunderbird, Outlook etc). I would suggest knowing the basic ports for incoming and outgoing mail servers. Maybe check out Messer's video on this part of the objectives.