Options

Do You Give Your Current Job 2 Weeks Notice During or After The Background Check?

coreyb80coreyb80 Member Posts: 647 ■■■■■□□□□□
Morning/Afternoon Everyone,

I just received news of a job offer that I accepted. I'm waiting on the official offer letter and I was informed the background check would take 5-10 days. I have no background so I'm not concerned, but to cover my own behind with my current employer I would like to wait until it comes back and then give my notice. Is this the norm? Just wondering.
WGU BS - Network Operations and Security
Completion Date: May 2021

Comments

• Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    I do not give notice until EVERYTHING is complete and good to go for the new job. Background check included. Just a CYA thing.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    BlackoutBlackout Member Posts: 512 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Networker is correct, never ever ever give a two week notice until Background, offer letter is signed, and start date is set.
    Current Certification Path: CCNA, CCNP Security, CCDA, CCIE Security

"Practice doesn't make perfect. Perfect practice makes perfect"

Vincent Thomas "Vince" Lombardi
  • Options
    Thank you networker that is my plan.
  • Options
    BlackBeretBlackBeret Member Posts: 683 ■■■■■□□□□□
    I just watched this bite someone. He wasn't concerned about his background either. The urinalysis lab took longer than normal to process his stuff, it delayed him starting by a week. One week with no pay isn't horrible, but I'd suggest avoiding anything like that if possible.
  • Options
    wtrwlkrwtrwlkr Member Posts: 138 ■■■□□□□□□□