Options

CCNA Home Lab or GNS3?

roninkaironinkai Member Posts: 307 ■■■■□□□□□□
I'm planning my attack for a CCNA Security cert in the next few months. I'm about 90% ready for CEH so I'm going to finish that first, and then get back into CCENT / CCNA. I studied for 3 weeks in June and watched all of the CBT Nuggets videos for CCENT. I don't feel ready though. I have a membership to INE and will watch their videos once through, and read the CCENT guide by Wendell Odom.

Anyway, I'm trying to determine if I should purchase some physical lab equipment or go virtual. The lab kits over at: Pre-Configured Lab Kits - CertificationKits look pretty good and it would be great to have some real hardware to touch. But the kit that fits in my budget doesn't support the latest IOS. I'm a little concerned that I may spend a lot of time with it, only to have IOS 15 questions come up that I'm not prepared for.

The other route of course is GNS3. I'm not sure which is the cheaper option or best way to learn.

Any suggestions? I am in this for the long haul, headed toward a CCIE security down the line, but don't want to purchase something overkill for now.

Thanks.
浪人 MSISA:WGU
ICP-FDO ▪ CISSP ▪ ECES ▪ CHFI ▪ CNDA ▪ CEH ▪ MCSA/MCITP ▪ MCTS ▪ S+
2020 Level Up Goals: (1) DevSecOps Learning Path (2) OSCP

Comments

• Options
    MTciscoguyMTciscoguy Member Posts: 552
    Although all of the simulators will get you through the courses to get your certifications, there are just some things that the simulators can't do, so I recommend if you can afford the equipment to build at lease a basic lab, then do it, Cert Kits has great information, but you can purchase the equipment cheaper on ebay, look through their tutorials on what, when and why, then head over to ebay and pick the equipment up.
    Current Lab: 4 C2950 WS, 1 C2950G EI, 3 1841, 2 2503, Various Modules, Parts and Pieces. Dell Power Edge 1850, Dell Power Edge 1950.
  • Options
    koz24koz24 Member Posts: 766 ■■■■□□□□□□