Options

Failed Exam

ColoradoRickColoradoRick Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Earlier this year, I passed my CompTIA Security + exam so decided to jump right into prepping for the CISSP exam.

My company offered the CISSP Skillsoft course so I went through that and also went through the Shon Harris book and made CD's of her audio lessons to listen in the car while driving.

Since I'm a retired vet, I have post-911 GI Bill money available so I found a bootcamp by Training Camp but the VA would only pay the 90% if I traveled to Bushkill, PA. My employer offered to pay most of the cost that the my GI Bill did not pay so I figured why not?

Lots of positive and negative about the Training Camp folks but my instructor was excellent and I studied from 8 am to midnight the entire week of the boot camp.

I just tested Saturday but feel like I rushed myself (finished in 4 hours) and I got a 691. To quote Larry the Cable Guy, "Can you believe that?"

I've heard that with the new exam, the failure rate is much higher...my local ISSA president told me he doesn't know anyone who passed the first time with the new exam. In my class, about half of them were 2nd testers and we had a 70% pass rate. (One was taking his test for the 2nd time but didn't pass...I think I felt worst for him than myself!)

Thankfully, my work is still going to reimburse me but I'll have to pay the $599 for the retest. (Unless I can find a discounted voucher.)

Hopefully, I can test within a few months...I really want that CISSP!

Comments

• Options
    TheFORCETheFORCE Member Posts: 2,297 ■■■■■■■■□□
    You need to be mentally prepared the same way you are when studying. Take some more practice tests and re-focus on your weak areas. You probably missed it by 1 or 2 questions.
  • Options
    kiki162kiki162 Member Posts: 635 ■■■■■□□□□□