Options

Cissp pass!

jt2929jt2929 Member Posts: 244 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hey everyone, I passed my CISSP exam this morning. I want to thank everyone here who contributes. I'm sure I would not have been as prepared if it weren't for the other pass threads and questions posted.

My experience prior to the exam:
I have a BS in Cybersecurity from Utica College and currently hold Security+ certification. I have spent the last 3.5 years as an Information Systems Security Officer for a defense contractor. Prior to that, I spent 4 years in physical security for the same defense contractor (hoping this will get me through the endorsement process).

Study/Prep:
I started studying in February of this year, which is when I scheduled the exam. I wanted to have a definite deadline, which I think helped me focus my studies. I was able to study at work for 1-2 hours every day, then at home for another 1-2 hours after the kids went to bed. The resources I used were as follows:
Eric Conrad CISSP Study Guide- read cover to cover
Eric Conrad 11th Hour- read for my weakest domains
Shon Harris AIO - started with this and made it through just more than 600 pages before I put it down in favor of the Conrad book. It just became too wordy. I used this again after I finished the Conrad book to get more depth in my weak areas. I did the practice exams at the end of the chapters and both exams in the back of the book.
Cybrary.it - I watched these videos daily and took notes until I completed them all, then I watched as a refresher for the past month.
Total Tester - this was my main practice test resource and it came with the AIO book. I thought the questions were comparable to the real exam and made you think them through. I was scoring in the low to mid 80's during the last week of study.
Skillset - I used this a few times for practice exams and found it to be almost useless. A lot of the questions have incorrect answers, but the comments under the questions by other users were sometimes useful.