Options

Adding Cisco cert to the mix?

jlhctjlhct Member Posts: 92 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey Everyone,

Just a bit of background. Earlier in my career, I was a network admin doing server and desktop installs and support. I then moved into the Project Management arena, managing smaller infrastructure projects and helping to manage very large software projects. I also have my PMP. I now have an opportunity to work on a Network Security/Firewall team doing project support. I think I will have the opportunity to learn a lot more about network infrastructure on the Cisco side. I'm thinking about trying to shift my career back to the technical side. Has anyone done this type of shift before? Also, after getting some more experience on the Cisco side, should the CCNA certification be the first one I try for?

Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    MowMow Member Posts: 445 ■■■■□□□□□□
    CCENT is the first Cisco cert. Then CCNA. In my opinion, if you continue, it will be valuable to have a CCNP before you move to another track, since all of the other tracks rely on the network to carry them in some way. I am working on my CCNP now, I wish I had gotten it years ago.
  • Options
    nsternster Member Posts: 231
    TBH CCNP is only useful if you're actually going to be doing Networking IMO, CCNA though, is a great ROI for most fields as it shows good understanding of Networking in general
  • Options
    joelsfoodjoelsfood Member Posts: 1,027 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Also consider that there are plenty of tracks for CCNA/CCNP/CCIE, from Route/Switch to Cloud or Industrial. You might benefit from one of the other tracks, instead of or in addition to the traditional route/switch.
  • Options
    MowMow Member Posts: 445 ■■■■□□□□□□