Options

Career and Certification Advice

RGriffinRGriffin Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello all.

I am looking for some advice in regards to progressing my career. I am currently an Security and Information Risk Advisor in the Public Sector and I have been doing this for around a year now.

I has sat and passed my CISMP. I have my PCIIRM and PCIAA coming up at the end of the year which I have secured through work. I am currently studying Business continuity in my own time and plan to take the BCS exam for it by the end of the year also.

Next year I will be looking at completing the CISM and begin studying for the CISSP.

My current weakness is in network and general IT. I have a good basic knowledge but I require more training and input in the area so that when I am reviewing IT solutions I can better understand them and am able to a curated access any inherent risk within it. This is mostly due to me coming from the Physical Security side on the Job rather than the IT side.

Any advice at all would be fantastic.

Comments

• Options
    636-555-3226636-555-3226 Member Posts: 975 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Just a heads up that both the CISM & CISSP require a specific number of years of experience. If you don't meet the requirements, you may be able to pass the test, but you technically shouldn't be certified until you meet the experience.

Other than that, I'm not sure what you're asking. Sounds like you already have a cert path picked out. In terms of career, what do you want to go in to?
  • Options
    Marv_Bx_718Marv_Bx_718 Member Posts: 19 ■□□□□□□□□□
    RGriffin wrote: »
    Hello all.

I am looking for some advice in regards to progressing my career. I am currently an Security and Information Risk Advisor in the Public Sector and I have been doing this for around a year now.