Passed PMP without ITTO memorization

riyanriyan Member Posts: 161 ■■■□□□□□□□
Last week; appeared in PMP exams. Took a mandatory training (face-to-face) with local training provider and got some overview of PMP requirements, terminology, structure of exams and introduction to PMBOK. But in itself training was not sufficient to pass the exam. In training, calculating floats, critical path, EVM etc. were discussed along with some practical problems that are generally faced by PM but it does not cover the exam content.
  • Although it was mentioned that ITTO should be memorized during the training sessions but I did not find it useful. May be one or two questions need it but considering the time and effort required it was not worth it.
  • So I totally avoided reciting or memorizing ITTOs but however I have roughly around 10+ years of experience dealing with different PMO (Project Management Office), each following their own methodology so I thought that there is no way PMP exam should be entirely based upon ITTO, there should be more than that.
  • First I targeted all numerical and calculation based topics CPM, EVM, Pricing/Contract etc.
  • Then I went through PMBOK 5th Edition to know exactly the phases and activities prescribed in PMBOK and understand the key Input and key output of each activity together with understanding of TT that's it.
  • During exam, I wrote down all the formulas and create a simplified matrix of Knowledge Area vs Project Phases. This was really help as after 1-2 hours, i used it a lot and would be in serious trouble if I had not written them down.
In the end, the result was as per my expectation (4 P and MP in Closing). MP in closing was due to the fact that I did not follow PMBOK and utilized experience, in some clients payments are more important, while other emphasize hand-over-training etc. While P, E, M&C are almost standardize.