Options

Equiptment or Simulation Software

BennyTheManBennyTheMan Member Posts: 76 ■■■□□□□□□□
I am studying for CCENT 1.

Should I use a simulator or just buy the equiptment and set up l real lab?

I can order 3 switches and 3 routers for around $300 and it comes with labs/study guides and cabling.

This seems like a really good idea to me.

I was planning on using GNS3 but I need an IOS image and can't figure out how to get that.

Any ideas on this stuff?

Thanks,

-Benny

Comments

• Options
    v1ralv1ral Member Posts: 116 ■■□□□□□□□□
    For CCENT, Packet Tracer is enough to get you by even for the CCNA.

To get an IOS image you need a cisco acct with valid contracts usually given by employers. If you don't have that, always remember google is your best friend icon_cool.gif.
  • Options
    steele84steele84 Member Posts: 62 ■■□□□□□□□□
    What I have is 2 layer 3 switches, and one old 2900 series router. (which I wouldn't recommend because it doesn't support inter vlan routing with it's ios version, there is an upgrade for these series but my router dosen't have the flash size to facilitate the ios version needed) But I have been using GNS3 for labs configuring things like OSPF, ACLs, and even NAT (nat would be a bit easier with physical devices but it works). GNS3 if you take the time to get it configured correctly is awesome for routing, it's the switching that doesn't work since GNS3 can't replicate ASICs in software. You can add an ios image that supports a switch module, but it's not exactly the same as running a true switch, and some cmds are different (vlans in particular).

So my recommendation would be to check out GNS3 and purchase a few physical switches. Keith Barker with cbtnuggets has some awesome gns3 videos if you have access to the site.
    “What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us.”

Ralph Waldo Emerson
  • Options
    MooseboostMooseboost Member Posts: 778 ■■■■□□□□□□