Options

CCNA but not getting hired as Network Technician / Engineer

egrizzlyegrizzly Member Posts: 533 ■■■■■□□□□□
Hello all,

I've passed my CCNA for a few years but not getting hired as a Network Technician (or Engineer). I've got over 10 years experience in Help Desk/Technical Support where my job involves some networking tasks of course. Is there anything I'm doing wrong? My brother got his CCNA with zero tech experience (used to work as waiter) but got hired quickly as a NOC Technician, and now he's working as a Network Security engineer. One difference though is that he went to school for his while I studied books. I was told that does not make a difference. Anyway, to restate the question, is there a reason I'm not getting hired as a Network Tech or Network Engineer?

egrizzly.
B.Sc (Info. Systems), CISSP, CCNA, CCNP, Security+

Comments

• Options
    Robertf969Robertf969 Member Posts: 190
    Your profile says you are a CCNP, can you clarify? Did you mean why are you not getting hired as a CCNP? Remember certs are just one piece of the puzzle. It could be any number of things, Resume or Poor Interviewing skills. Sounds like your brother just might have been in the right place at the right time.
  • Options
    Robertf969 wrote: »
    Your profile says you are a CCNP, can you clarify? Did you mean why are you not getting hired as a CCNP? Remember certs are just one piece of the puzzle. It could be any number of things, Resume or Poor Interviewing skills. Sounds like your brother just might have been in the right place at the right time.

yes, I'm a CCNP however even when I apply for positions that have CCNA listed as the requirements I get no responses. My brother who was previously a waiter got hired by Checkpoint after completing CCNA training at a community college and just 1 year experience as a NOC Engineer. Now he makes about 75K. I don't get it, he doesn't even have an associates degree.
  • Options