Options

Returning back to IT work (in UK) after 12+ years out

boliviabboliviab Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone , my first post here and looking for a bit of advice / some suggestions.
I used to work in IT - mostly IT Support looking after networks, windows, linux, cisco and was at a mid management level having about 7 or 8 years experience.I had MCSE, CCNA and very cutting edge experience as worked in R and D for a mobile phone company but I got bored with the corporate environment I was in and decided to go off traveling. I never returned and am still overseas in South America but am looking to return next year (prob around august) to UK and am exploring the possibilities of returning to work in IT. I haven't entirely been out of the scene though as I own a successful online business that I entirely developed, support and admin and we have sales of over 1 million USD per year. I also own physical travel agencies and have always supported all the IT for them and I also developed our own MIS using groovy/grails. Additionally I have been studying for an online degree in IT (which I started just out of interest 2 years ago) so have developed some additional skills like Java programming.

So my question is - as I feel I need to show that my skills are up to date what would the best certs be to get to return to the job market in the UK? What are most in demand. What are the hottest areas to aim to get into. I was thinking of aiming to do a general update but focus on cloud based technologies as it is something that interests me.