Options

Switching To I.T (Network Engineering)

6thSens36thSens3 Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
So, Ive been working at food lion every since I graduated high school about 2 years ago and Im ready for a career change into I.T specifically the Networking Aspect.

I will be attending a community college in which I can transfer to a University in 1 year (1.5 years because I have to take remedial math). I do have a genuine interest in I.T I have since I was about 7.

It is a Bachelor of Science in Computer & Information Technology, I will be concentrating in Networking(http://www.ecu.edu/cs-tecs/techsystems/ict.cfm)

But I have a few questions:
How is the job market for I.T these days?

How do I ensure I get a Network Engineering career once Im done with the program and have all of the necessary certifications and experience?

Comments

• Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    6thSens3 wrote: »
    How do I ensure I get a Network Engineering career once Im done with the program and have all of the necessary certifications and experience?

You already summed it up! Degrees help, certs help, experience definitely helps. Add in a good resume and the ability to sell yourself and you're golden.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    thomas_thomas_ Member Posts: 1,012 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I would recommend trying to get an internship with a company you would want to work for your junior or senior year too. Also, I would look into whether the university you plan on transferring to accepts CLEP tests. CLEPs are a good way of knocking out a bunch of lower level courses.
  • Options
    IIIMasterIIIMaster Member Posts: 238 ■■■□□□□□□□