Options

Getting into IT

pujan96pujan96 Member Posts: 121 ■■■□□□□□□□
HI all, I'm trying to get into IT(networking) at the minute but am having a very difficult time. I have no previous work experience in IT or any IT qualifications and my previous job history was in the motor trade.

I am currently studying for my ccna qualification but am having trouble finding a job in IT, even if one has ccna or ccnp or other IT qualifications employers still require a minimum of one or two years experience.

Can anyone recommend what steps to take to get a job in IT and what qualifications could help.

I am look in to get into the networking side of things.

Thanks

Pujan Kerai
[X] CCNA R&S

[X] CCNP Route 300-101
[  ] CCNP Switch 300-115
[  ] CCNP T-Shoot 300-135

[  ]  NPDESI 300-550

[  ] CCIE R&S Written
[  ] CCIE R&S LAB

Comments

• Options
    Kinet1cKinet1c Member Posts: 604 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Get your CCNA first. Without any experience or qualifications, you're not going to get a networking job. Look for customer support roles within ISP/Datacentres and if successful, work your way up via NOC and then network engineer. Expecting to get a networking job as your first IT job is not realistic.
    2018 Goals - Learn all the Hashicorp products

Luck is what happens when preparation meets opportunity
  • Options
    636-555-3226636-555-3226 Member Posts: 975 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Everyone here will tell you to start out at the help desk, and they're right. A CCNA is nice, but you're going to most likely need some IT experience before getting into the networking team. Get into the help desk, network (socially) the other IT dept heads to figure out what is a good path, start learning that path, and convince them to mentor or hire you in that path.
  • Options
    ImThe0neImThe0ne Member Posts: 143