Options

Changing from storage to networking

DelphieDelphie Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

I need some advice. I've been with my company for 2 years and work for an EMC partner. I'm on the post sales implementation side so I do the installs of VNX, Isilon, Avamar, VMware, Data Domain which I have all these certs plus the VCP-NV (network virtualization, NSX, SDN) cert as well. We also handle supporting these systems, as well as our internal IT. I graduated from college 2.5 years ago with a CIS degree and did an internship at a big oil and gas company on their server and storage team. I've always been interested in networking ever since I started with computers, but the way things worked out I got into storage because that's what came to me (recruiter) and I was fresh out of college so I was going to take anything I could get.

I had bought a home lab about 1.5 years ago to get into networking, but have been so busy learning/working I haven't had the chance to really dive in. Recently, I've realized how boring storage and backups are and I really want to do something I'm passionate/fascinated about and I figured I better do it now than later. I'm working on my CCNA as we speak and spending 3 hours a night after work and 8 hours on the weekends so hopefully I'll finish that pretty quickly and move on to the CCNP and then CCIE. During our installs we will dabble on the networking side but nothing too complex.

So, do you think I could find a job with a CCNP, but not a lot of real world networking experience on the customer side? I would like to not take a pay cut if possible, but I think my experience in the enterprise environment will help land that CCNP level job. Someone's got to give me a chance. I would expect to start looking in the next 6m to a year. Anyways thanks for reading, just wanted a little guidance on my next steps as I make this transition to the wonderful world of networking.

Thanks,

Comments

• Options