Study Methods?

FermionFermion Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello Forum. This is my first post.

I'm currently studying for the 410 exam. Using the Microsoft Skills Measured page, I see that there are 19 bullet points on which to focus. I figured that would work out nicely to approximately 3 days per bullet, and I could be done in about 2 months.

Well, it's not quite working out as I planned. I study about 3 hours per day, and I'm finding that it's taking a lot longer than I expected. For example, let's take a look at this particular bullet point:

• Configure file and share access
    • Create and configure shares, configure share permissions, configure offline files, configure NTFS permissions, configure access-based enumeration (ABE), configure Volume Shadow Copy Service (VSS), configure NTFS quotas, create and configure Work Folders

Although, 3 days at 3 hours/day would initially seem more than enough, I'm finding that once I delve into a topic, there is just SO MUCH to learn. Between watching videos, reading material, labwork, I never feel like I'm truly done.

I guess my concern is that I've never taken a Microsoft exam, so I don't know what to expect. Should I spend hours upon hours researching the intricacies of VSS, or should I just get a general understanding of the topic and move on? if so, how do I know when I have a good enough grasp of the subject to move on?

I know this is a pretty subjective question, but I'd still like to hear the experiences of others.

Thanks for reading my first post. It definitely won't be my last.

Comments

• Louie1277Louie1277 Member Posts: 505 ■■■□□□□□□□