Options

Passed CISSP !

Awilliam77Awilliam77 Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
So after 4 long grueling hours I managed to finish the exam and walk out into the lobby to find a printout telling me congratulations. Felt pretty awesome, and thankfully I don't have to look at that material anymore.

Here's a little about myself:

My only security experience is completing the Sec+ cert, MSISA from WGU, and working 4 months as an IS Risk Engineer at an insurance company for the past 5 months. Before that I spent 3 years in networking, and 2 years in desktop support

Study Method:

I studied 45 days.

Books - Shon Harris All in one, Eric Conrad (both the full and 11th hour CISSP guide), CISSP for Dummies, CISSP Combined notes (found here).

Videos - Cybrary with Kelly K., Larry Greenblatt's CISSP Kung fu, Saari Greene CISSP on safari books

Test questions - Shon Harris books, CCCure, McGrawHill

Every piece of that played it's part. Shon Harris gives you an overwhelming amount of information. Eric Conrad gives you a lot less, but what he talks about is very relevant. CCCure test questions aren't that relevant, but the study material provided from them is VERY relevant. Cybrary videos are a must. Kelly tells you what to focus on and what not to, and that's very accurate information. I couldn't have done it without the Larry Greenblatt videos on youtube though. He gives a lot of methodology, and a lot of little tricks a long the way. It's also nice to study and listen to a comedian. He's going to tell you things like "it's an english test," which is so true, because the wording is very deceptive, and it actually became kind of fun to figure out what they were really asking for. Saari Greene videos are decent, but they are very updated. She talks about things that the other 2 don't mention. The CISSP Combines notes were great, but probably due for a little updating.