Options

Promoted!

Kai123Kai123 Member Posts: 364 ■■■□□□□□□□
I was gonna have a big, open-hearted monologue about my journey to my goal that I set out about 6 years ago. I wanted to do this because techexam's has been instrumental on my path to my humble role of...NOC Engineer!

I studied Comptia's while working in retail. I quit the job to work in a tiny phone repair shop, which lasted 3 months before I quit (father-and-son business and full of drama). I spent 6 months unemployed while studying and then 6 months doing an internship (very basic system admin stuff).

At this point I had 3 Comptia's, 6 months experience after the internship ended but still no luck. There was a period of two weeks which alot happened.

Firstly, I gave up. I started applying for retail jobs and thought, I'll try and be a retail manager since at the time it felt like it was the only thing I'd be able to achieve and live my life as someone who tried and failed (and gave up). There was one employer nearby who always had NOC roles up, of which I pretty much harassed the HR assistant about for years about it. I sent an amazing e-mail selling myself for an internship but had to cancel the interview because I was sick of working for free (I was unemployed for almost a year at this point, so in hindsight it would of been a good decision but I was sick of working for free at this point).

I'm pretty sure it was the same day I sent an e-mail saying I had to cancel the internship interview that I received an e-mail that I was accepted to a part-time local college for the CCNA for free. Great! I'll get a job in retail to cover me for the year (it was drawn out but figured it would be fail-proof, and I'd be certified). About a day after this the HR lady of the company I cancelled the internship interview for said they had a position anyway, and if I'd like to go for it.