Options

DONE! Passed 11/7 after Training Camp.

ic3scrap3ric3scrap3r Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
I just passed Saturday. I took a Training Camp class in Dallas and passed the exam after 5 1/2 of the 6 hours.

I've been doing security work exclusively since 2005. I've stopped and started this process (via self-study) several times over the years. I think my experience and previous studies definitely played a role in my passing. I studied for and received my CISA several years ago which also covered some of this material, so that helped.

I took the Training Camp course last week in order to get dedicated study time and a skilled Trainer. Class started every day at 8 am and went to 7 PM or 7:30 almost every night. I think the course was a great investment of time and money. I don't think I could have passed the test without this class. The instructor, Buzz, was great. He presented the each major topic or item in a way that was easy to understand at a high level first, then dug into the specifics in the book afterwards so you had a base when reading the technical material. This really helped me. One key thing to remember, this Boot Camp is intended as an intense review. There will be items on the test not taught in class. Experience and other studying WILL be required!

Books and study Material in order of my purchase and reading.

CISSP All-In-One Shon Harris Fourth Edition
(ISC)2 Official CBK Participants Guide
Sunflower Review Notes
Cybrary CISSP videos and MP3s.
Quizlet (ISC)2 Official Flash Cards (These are free and are the exact same flash cards they gave us at the class)

The Official (ISC)2 Participant's Guide - This has great material in it, but it needs to be re-edited. There are misspellings, words left out, odd spacing, etc. A very tiny percentage of this results in the information being wrong.