Technical school

byron66byron66 Member Posts: 169 ■■■□□□□□□□
Did anyone start at a technical or vocational school? How was your experience and did you count it as experience on your resume or used it in anyway to get a job? How are you doing now?
CCNA   A+   N+  Sec+

Comments

• v1ralv1ral Member Posts: 116 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I went to a local community college for networking since it was affiliated with Cisco's Network Academy program. I listed it as my education/course-work.

Im actually doing quite well, I graduated last summer and got a full time job a month before my graduation. Keep in mind I did do internships with 2 other companies in my city to get my feet wet in IT. I only got the internships since my school hooked me up with their connections in the industry. Im currently an IT technician for my city's transportation company. I do a wide variety of things from networking, server and desktop support.
  • jmasterj206jmasterj206 Member Posts: 471
    I went to tech school and got an A.A.S. in Information Technology. It served me well from Help Desk to System Administration. I did eventually run into a wall and had to get a Bachelor's for management positions and may have to get a Master's some day. No matter what you do experience is king in IT.
    WGU grad
  • byron66byron66 Member Posts: 169 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I definitely plan on going to WGU after school. But I do worry about not having experience. I should have an internship lined up next semester.
    CCNA   A+   N+  Sec+
  • bender_fender100bender_fender100 Member Posts: 89 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I'm in business school right now studying information systems. I never went to a technical school even though a few years ago, I had been really close to attending one right near my home. I was looking into programming at that time, but then got more interested in accounting at first. I kind of have a few regrets about not doing it at the time.