Options

Anyone here in Dakota State University's DSc. Cyber Security?

DrVictorinoDrVictorino Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Looking for someone currently attending Dakota State University? I'm interested in their DSc. Cyber Security and I'm looking for any advice on how to get in. I have 7+ years in InfoSec and a CISSP. Currently at Security Engineer at a large tech company. My concern is that my Bachelor's is from WGU(IT-Security)

Comments

• Options
    da_vatoda_vato Member Posts: 445
    What exactly are you concerned about? WGU is a regionally accredited school, that's all that matters. A delivery method of course material is irrelevant...
  • Options
    DrVictorinoDrVictorino Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Sorry seems you misunderstood me. From DSU's website it states " U.S. Students must have a bachelors or master’s degree in computer science." It's not about WGU rather specifically in their requirements for computer science and my degree is in IT. That's why I'm looking for someone that might be in the program
  • Options
    da_vatoda_vato Member Posts: 445
    Oh gotcha.... That definitely makes more sense now. Generally speaking, when there is specifically a computer science degree requirement there are prerequisites that need to be fulfilled before starting the program. I have friends that have been admitted to programs with similar requirements and were conditionally accepted into the program where they began school with those prereq's upfront.

In my experience when they ask for computer science they are after the math and some programming classes (usually the common object oriented programming classes like C++ and .net).

Realistically because everyone has a unique situation the only one that can truly answer your question is the enrollment counselor.
  • Options
    the_Grinchthe_Grinch Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■